Sala Kakuhle

After all of the goodbyes, last minute catch ups and farewell hugs the day has finally arrived. I woke up today from another broken sleep feeling excited and anxious to start my new adventure. There’s a long journey ahead of me, over 24 hours in total from my home town to my destination of Cape Town, South Africa where I’ll be spending the next two months.

I’ve set up this blog to capture all of the places, the people and the experiences I encounter on my travels. Anyone who knows me knows how much I love a good photo, so all images will be captured on my iPhone or on my GoPro cameras. Hopefully they will help to build a picture of the life I live while I’m away, so follow for regular updates! 

I can’t wait to see what’s in store for me in this country I have a lot of love for. I’m super excited to have the opportunity to be working with disadvantaged children in the township of Masiphumelele, and if there’s any way I can have a positive impact on these kids’ lives even in a small way, I’ll be over the moon. 

So the main reason I’m going to South Africa is to work in the schools and develop my skills as an English Foreign Language Teacher. I do however, have a few things I’d like to do in my spare time while I’m out there, including a shark dive, climbing Table Mountain and of course a Kruger Safari trip! 

I guess this is goodbye Wales and the UK for now then. I’ll miss the home comforts, the familiar faces, the beautiful sunsets and the green hills. But it’s time for me to spend some time on the other side of the world for a bit. 

Afskeid vriende, hallo Suid-Afrika!

One thought on “Sala Kakuhle

Leave a Reply

